Sunday, August 30, 2009

NEW ARRIVALS: Crispin Glover

I remember first seeing Rat Catching and Oak Mot back in my youth at Printed Matter. At the time the media considered the two books as further proof of Glover's insanity. Of course the real shock was that a celebrity was self-publishing artists books well within the tradition of Max Ernst, and Tom Phillips' A Humument. And that they were good.



Oak Mot
Hardcover, (signed) $49.95



The Big Problem does not equal the solution. The Solution equals Let It Be
LP $79.95





Rat Catching
Hardcover, (signed) $49.95





Concrete Inspection
Hardcover, (signed) $49.95

Thursday, August 27, 2009

NEW ARRIVALS: ART BOOKS

Salvador Dali's Dream of Venus
Hardcover


Jess: To and from the Printed Page
Paperback


The Art of Adolf Wolfli
Hardcover


Brodsky & Utkin: The Complete Works
Hardcover



Raymond Pettibon: The Pages Which Contain Truth Are Blank
Paperback




El Lissitzky, Had Gadya: The Only Goat
Paperback




Karl Wirsum: Winsome Works(Some)
Paperback, accordian-bound




Bruce Nauman: Topological Gardens
Hardcover



These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

NEW ARRIVALS: The Scientific Method


G.B. Duchenne de Boulogne, The Mechanism of Human Facial Expression
Hardcover, $79.95



Mallinckrodt Classics of Radiology, Volume II
Three Paperbacks in Slipcase, $39.95



Investigating Sex: Surrealist Discussions
Paperback, $19.95



The Insanity File: The Case of Mary Todd Lincoln
Paperback, $12.95



Walter Benjamin, On Hashish
Paperback, $14.95





These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Sunday, August 23, 2009

NEW ARRIVALS: Fiction


Edmund Wilson, Memoirs of Hecate County
Paperback, $9.95


Celine: A Biography
Hardcover, $19.95 (out of print)


Roberto Bolano, Nazi Literature In The Americas
Paperback, $14.95


William S. Burroughs, Last Words: The Final Journals of William S. Burroughs
Hardcover, $14.95 (out of print)




Charles Bukowski, Factotum
Paperback, $14.95 (classic Black Sparrow edition)



Walter de la Mare, Memoirs of a Midget
Hardcover, $19.95 (out of print)


John O'Hara, Appointment in Samarra
Hardcover, $14.95 (out of print)


Theodore Dreiser, Sister Carrie
Hardcover, $14.95



Salman Rushdie, Midnight's Children
Paperback, $9.95



Donald Antrim, The Verificationist
Paperback, $9.95


Gary Shtengart, Absurdistan
Paperback, $9.95


Gunter Grass, Cat and Mouse
Hardcover, $14.95 (1st edition)





Nelson Algren, Never Come Morning
Paperback, $9.95



Italo Calvino, Invisible Cities
Paperback, $9.95




Neal Cassady, The First Third
Paperback, $9.95


Kathy Acker, Great Expectations
Paperback, $8.95


Franz Kafka, The Complete Stories
Paperback, $9.95



Irvine Welsh, Trainspotting
Paperback, $11.95 (British Edition)


Jean Genet, Our Lady of the Flowers
Paperback, $8.95


Handke, Becker, Eich, etc, German Radio Plays
Paperback, $19.95


Gertrude Stein, To Do: A Book of Alphabets
Paperback, $8.95



Heiner Muller, Hamletmachine
Paperback, $9.95



Paul Auster, The Book of Illusions
Hardcover, $14.95







Harold Pinter, The Dwarves
Hardcover, $14.95


Jeanette Winterson, Written on the Body
Hardcover, $14.95



Don Delillo, Libra
Paperback, $11.95 (British edition)



Henry Miller, Tropic of Cancer

Paperback, $9.95


Dorothy Parker: What Fresh Hell Is This? A Biography
Paperback, $9.95



With William Burroughs: A Report from the Bunker
Paperback, $9.95



Barry Gifford, Perdita Durango
Paperback, $9.95



Mary Shelley, Frankenstein
Paperback, $9.95


Paul Auster, Man in the Dark
Hardcover, $25.00 (Signed, 1st edition)




These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Monday, August 17, 2009

NEW ARRIVAL: Mid-Century Design


Chairs, George Nelson
Hardcover, $39.95


Baldwin Kingrey: Midcentury Modern in Chicago
Paperback, $39.95


Charles and Ray Eames: Designers of the Twentieth Century
Paperback. $34.95


Room 606: The SAS House and the Work of Arne Jacobsen
Hardcover, $59.95


Eames Design
Hardcover, $48.95






These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

NEW gestalten books!




Just in from gestalten, publishers of cutting-edge visual culture:





fragiles: Porcelain, Glass & Ceramics (HC), 47.95 (List Price 69.00)















Jaime Hayon: Works (HC), 65.00 (List Price 100)















Playful Type: Emphemeral Lettering & Illustrative Fonts (HC), 49.95 (List Price 69.00!)





These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Sunday, August 9, 2009

FEATURED: Two Books from Nieves





Harmony Korine, Pigxote $28.00
96 Pages, Softcover
19.5 x 25.5
cmb/w Offset
First Edition, 2009






















Rita Ackermann, Under Pressure From 2006 to 2007 $24.00
36 Pages, Softcover
15 x 40 cm, Color Offset
First Edition, 2008
























These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.

Friday, August 7, 2009

NEW ARRIVALS & RESTOCKS: Children's Books


Kveta Pacovska, The Little Flower King
Hardcover, $17.99









Bruno Munari, Drawing A Tree
Hardcover, $21.95









Tomi Ungerer, Moon Man
Hardcover $16.95







Jon Scieszka & Lane Smith, Seen Art?
Hardcover $16.95








Edward Gorey, The Hapless Child
Hardcover, $14.95







Marjane Satrapi, Monsters Are Afraid Of The Moon
Hardcover, $15.95








Tomi Ungerer, This Is Papa Snap
Hardcover, $21.95







Crockett Johnson, Magic Beach
Hardcover, $18.95






Maurice Sendak, Where The Wild Things Are
Hardcover $17.95







Peter S. Newell, The Rocket Book
Hardcover, $16.95








Franciszka Themerson, My First Nursery Book
Hardcover $16.95







Paul & Ann Rand, Sparkle & Spin
Hardcover $15.95







Antoinette Portis, Not A Box
Hardcover $14.95







Yoshitomo Nara, Lonesome Puppy
Hardcover $17.95










Bruno Munari's ABCs
Hardcover $19.95







Ole Risom & Richard Scarry, I Am A Bunny
Hardcover $6.95








Cold Fusion, Doris Haggis-On-Whey
Hardcover $18.00





These books, and many others, can be purchased from:

Brickbat Books
709 South Fourth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147

215 592 1207

Open every day, 11am to 7pm.

We accept Visa, MC, Amex, Paypal and cash.

We ship anywhere.